oscar grouch | 2002-03-25 - 8:58 p.m.


It was with a mounting sentido of disappointment that I watched the Oscar show unfold anoche. As in the past, I had tuned in to el espect�culo for a little sorbito of la dolce vita, but the sabor in mi boca as the final credits rolled was more akin to the metallic tang of a diet soda than the sweet taste of ambrosia. Once again, yo pensaba, Hollywood hab�a prometido a lush five course dinner and delivered nada m�s than a happy meal.

S�, claro, I was moved when (�por fin!) they got around to awarding Oscars to Halle Berry and Denzel Washington, albeit for the only two pel�culas of theirs no one has ever seen. Me conmovi� when Ron Howard and Randy Newman were honored -- at great length -- for once again scaling la cumbre de la mediocridad. I nodded my head vigorously when Robert Redford told us we must strive to ensure that American cinema continues to take chances (I even overlooked his dubious uso of la palabra "continues!"). I was so swept up en el momento that I did not even flinch when J-Lo flounced onto stage in that pink fifth wheel of a dress.

S�, s�, me conmovi�. But despu�s de todo, I was also struck, as I am cada a�o, by the artificialidad of the whole enchilada. Nada about la ceremonia was real -- everything was encrusted with a patina of self-consciousness, as though it had all been exhaustively scripted, rehearsed, and tweaked, right down to the momento emocionante when Sidney Poitier and Denzel Washington proudly brandished their Oscars at each other. For all la ch�chara about risk-taking and breaking old molds, the whole espect�culo was about as predictable -- and unnatural -- as una hamburguesa at McDonald's.

Don't misunderstand me. I am not sorry for having wasted cuatro horas of mi vida watching this Oscar show, even if the more touching escenas were rehearsed. Even if "Beautiful Mind" did get Best Picture. Even if seeing Ryan O'Neill will give me nightmares for weeks. Porque ya sabes, I can at least tell mis nietos years from now that I was watching when Julia Roberts called herself loquicious.

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland