tirar por la calle de en medio | 2003-01-28 - 8:22 p.m.


A prudish little voz in my cabeza warned me to slam the tel�fono down in its cradle without delay. �Cuelga ahorita! it shrilled.

Anyone who knows me will know that I do not often prestar atenci�n to little voices, no matter how shrill and insistentes. No, amigos, it is the big voices,like Pedro's authoritative bar�tono or Concha's rich, descarado contralto, that grab me. People with deep, sonorous voices need but recitar the phonebook and I will listen, fascinada.

Roger, I inmediatamente understood, was one of these people. Despite the �spero cough, despite the early-morning, bong-induced scratchiness, his voice was deep and resonant, like the voz of the great wizard of Oz. Mesmerized, I clutched the grimy auricular to my ear, eager for his next palabras.

"So," continuaba Roger, "I was thinking about you last night."

"Oh, yeah?"

"Yeah. I was thinking about that time you cast that flatulence spell on the Troll King."

"... Oh?"

"Yeah."

"And?"

"... And I was uh, wondering if you, uh, wanted to uh, you know."

"No, what?" I asked.

"Uh, you know. Hang out."

In my thirty-odd a�os, I have heard the dance of love referred to in many ways, but not desde high school have I encontrado this particular locuci�n. De repente, I experienced a shudder of miedo. Recordando my abuelita's on-line dating cat�strofe, I began to wonder if I was not headed in the same direcci�n. How old was this Roger, anyway? the shrill little voice in my cabeza began demandando.

And then it occurred to me that nadie younger than treinte a�os of edad would ever, ever non-ironicalmente use the expresi�n "hang out." Al menos, not outside of an eighties revival party. Roger may have had his faults, I decided, but at least he was no teen.

"Okay, bien," I said. "Here, or in Chula Vista?"

"Why don't we meet up there?" he asked. "In V*n N*ys."

"Okay," I replied. By now, the shrill voice of reason was chillando at me to desist. But it was all but muffled by the insistent golpeteo of my heart.

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland