beauty and the beast | 2002-03-23 - 9:13 p.m.


Hace unas cuantas semanas I learned that Pedro, el m�s guapo cook at Curly's Pie Hole, was going to start working las tardes. Perhaps you shared my excitement when you first heard la noticia back then. Perhaps, like me, you entertained visiones of the two of us one day marching down a petal-strewn aisle, l�grimas of joy springing from our starry eyes and spattering the upturned, beaming faces of our friends and familia.

Perhaps you are wondering why I haven't written about Pedro desde entonces. �Qu� ha pasado? you ask. Can it be that Pedro went the way of Dick Cheney's wife? Has he completamente vanished from the face of el planeta, only to return for the occasional holiday photo op and press junket?

No, hijos, Pedro is still very much with us. That said, he might as well be hiding in a cueva con Osama Bin Laden, as far as I am concerned. In the cinco semanas since we started working el mismo shift I believe we've exchanged no more than veinte palabras. And those were words like hamburguesa, especial, y mantequilla.

All this was to change this evening. I had resolved antes de trabajo that I would somehow manage to speak to Pedro; whether about la vida, o el amor, or my favorite programa de TV, I was unsure, but I knew it would happen. Tonight. Como el dinero para pagar la renta, las palabras would somehow come.

And come they did. Ay, did they ever.

When I went to place my first order of el turno it sounded like Pedro was hablando to Eduardo, the other cook, about movies again. Now normalmente, their discussions are demasiado esot�ricas and bookish -- Pedro was un estudiante de film at one point and between him y Eduardo, they must have seen just about every chingada foreign pel�cula ever produced. But la virgen must have been esmiling on me for once, because as I listened to them charlar I realized they were talking about one of my favorite pel�culas of all time; namely Beauty and the Beast, the Disney movie where the t�a en el vestido amarillo falls in love with the monster! I could barely contain my delight.

"I don't know when I have witnessed such a happy marriage between eroticism and whimsy," Eduardo was saying.

This was it, I thought, my chance to shine. Without a second's thought, I plunged in. "Oh yeah, the movie was fant�stica," I said, authoritatively. "I especialmente liked the part where the candelabra starts singing that Be My Guest song! Even though they flogged that song in the Disneyland commercials."

No sooner had these palabras crossed the threshold of my teeth, I knew with sickening surety that I had just said algo really est�pido. It wasn't so much the way Eduardo snickered -- it was the look of confusion that crossed Pedro's handsome features. He looked as though I had just announced I was going to vote for Pat Buchanan en la pr�xima elecci�n.

"Castigada, honey," said Eduardo. "No hablamos de la versi�n Disney. We're talking about Cocteau."

Oh! I thought. I remember the Cocteau Twins. "I remember the Cocteau Twins," I told Eduardo. "Pero ... no sab�a they were in any movies."

I would do anything -- anything -- to forget the look on Pedro's face just then as he wordlessly turned away to the grill. It didn't make matters any better when Eduardo started laughing.

"What?" I asked, bien enfadada by now. "What the hell is so funny?"

"You're a strange little girl," he said, shaking his head.

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland