at the dealership | 2002-08-26 - 7:55 p.m.


Concha lleg� al KIA dealership about twenty minutos after me. "Chingado bus system," she spat. Then she noticed my ce�o de disappointment. "�Qu� te pasa?" she asked.

"They're giving away DVDs, querida," I told her. "Do you have a DVD player?"

Concha snorted impatiently. "Don't need one. They're giving out videos, too, idiota! Didn't you see the commercial?"

Not wanting to rehash the detalles of a commercial I have never seen, I shrugged and went inside the dealership. There, a bunch of alb�ndigas in suits were propped up against the walls, looking bored. One of them was standing slightly apart from the rest, as though the other alb�ndigas had judged him unworthy to share the wall with them. He was the only one wearing a short sleeved shirt.

"That's our man," whispered Concha.

We sauntered up to him as casualmente as we could, trying to look like prospective car buyers would look. Then, like a seasoned profesional, Concha started talking him up. "I love the new Jetta," parloteaba, "but I've heard they're having problemas with their cooling systems. How does the new KIA measure up? Blah blah blah" y as� sucesivamente.

After what seemed like an eternidad of small talk with the guy, culminando en a few significant pauses from Concha, I finalmente summoned the courage to ask him if Concha y yo could take a test drive.

His face fell. "Oh, so you're here for the promotional DVD," he said.

"The video," Concha corrected.

"Follow me," he sighed, and led us out to the lot with the aire of alguien walking to his own execution.

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland