in which I gain respect for T�a Dolores | 2002-06-19 - 8:21 p.m.


If you're a entremetida old busybody like me, you were probablemente looking forward to Monday, when John Dean of Watergate fame hinted he would reveal the identidad of the famoso whistleblower, Deep Throat.

You were probablemente just as disappointed as I was when all those hints came to nada. Not only did Dean fail to narrow his search down to a single suspect, but all seven former White House empleados on the "Dean's list" denied being Deep Throat. One of them even threatened to sue if Dean went forward with his $8.00 e-disclosure on Salon.com.

Like the rest of you, I wallowed in a profound depression for a couple of d�as after it became evidente that the Deep Throat misterio was going to remain unsolved for another d�cada or so. I consumed so many pints of the new caffeinated One Sweet Whirled� helado, I started getting the shakes. Then suddenly, right in the middle of my caffeine-enhanced canguelo, I had an epifan�a. Like a bolt from the blue, it hit me. What if the answer to the Deep Throat misterio was right in front of me the whole time, like Bush's teleprompter? What if Deep Throat was someone familiar; someone who had been right there all along; someone I would never in a million a�os have suspected?

What if Deep Throat was my very own T�a Dolores?

Well, why not? Those of you who are by nature skeptical will be quick to remind me that Deep Throat is supposed to be male. And s�, es verdad, T�a Dolores is no hombre (al menos, I don't think she is). On the other hand, neither is Diane Sawyer, and she was at the top of the list of suspects por muchos a�os.

Adem�s, John Dean has "irrefutably" placed Deep Throat in Nixon's White House. And that is where the eerie coincidencias begin to amass! According to T�a Dolores, she worked in the White House from 1972 to 1974. Starching tablecloths and napkins for all those diplomatic functions, but still! Working in Nixon's White House! What's more, she, like Bob Woodward's Deep Throat, was a heavy smoker and career Scotch drinker (and still is, although she denies it to everyone who will listen).

Still not convinced? How about this for uncanny similaridades: seg�n Woodward, Deep Throat was, by nature, a huge gossip with a predilecci�n for stealth and drama. This is exactamente how I would describe my T�a Dolores. Why, T�a practicamente invented gossip. And drama? Hijos, do I really need to continuar?

Do I really need to mention the most compelling "coincidencia" of all? The fact that in her youth, T�a Dolores loved to rendevouz in parking lots?

John Dean can keep his astonishing disclosures. No matter who he believes the misterioso Deep Throat may have been, it can't get any better for me than T�a Dolores.

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland