so much depends upon a white lawn chair | 2002-06-01 - 11:21 p.m.


Five days after Abuelita coerced me to buy that pink monstrosidad of a bridesmaid's dress, I am sitting on an airplane; hurtling toward Las Vegas, Abuelita's wedding, and the absolute humillaci�n that seguramente awaits me there. I am a turbulent melting pot of emociones. My gnawing dread of Abuelita's wedding, my horror at finding myself seated one row away from the toilets, and my frustraci�n over missing this year's ALMA Awards are all blending into a nauseating stew of malestar. Gracias a dios they still have those airsickness bags in the .... ulffff... perd�n ...

Ahh, that's better. To take my mind off of the nauseabundo estench of the meal my seatmate has begun consuming, I have opened the latest issue of Newsweek across my tray table. I am warily eying the ads for sports utility vehicles and cigarettes when I come across this:

Now, I am as compasiva as the next muchacha, and cada vez I sit down to rezar, I pray for peace in the embattled Middle East. But even my compasi�n is stretched when the de facto leader of the Palestinians stages a press event to mourn the destruction of a tacky lawn chair.

What a complete and outrageous lack of perspective! I think. Have Arafat's powers of discernment really become so warped by all these years of violencia? Doesn't he know that he can get a replacement for only $3.98 at Walmart?

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland