bored of the rings | 2002-02-04 - 10:08 p.m.


Okay, call me predictable, but mi curiosidad got the better of me. I did a web search on "Vockner " as soon as I got home from the laundromat. Didn't find anything under that name. �Sabes por que? Porque no existe. THERE IS NO VOCKNER. Parece que I am the butt of a cruel joke. But hijos, I did not come away empty-handed. Pedro may have been yanking my chain with the Vockner thing, but The Ring Cycle really does exist; it's the name of a series of operas written by this German t�o named Wagner, and it's all about the Lord of the Rings.

You liked Lord of the Rings? You thought it was suspenseful and exciting? Well, let me warn you, the opera version of the movie couldn't be any more boring. Today I went all the way down to W*stw**d to rent a fifteen hour video set of the chingado Ring, and �que gasto de tiempo y dinero! I didn't even make it through the first tape. First off, the opera has absolutamente nada que ver con la pel�cula. When I hit "play" I expected to see a ragtag band of hobbits and elves dancing about on my TV screen, but no -- this opera's about a bunch of intense, bulgy-eyed Germans huffing around in nighties, squatting over fires and waving swords and shit. Muy pesado, in a prehistoric kind of way. Plus, it's all in German, with subtitles, so your eyes get all squinty and tired trying to read what's going on. The producers must have blown all their dinero on the subtitles and the yards of extra fabric for the singers' camisones because the sets are pathetic. No soaring elf castles or hobbit holes or dwarf caves aqu�, just a bunch of boring old rocks and orangey backdrops, like in the old Star Trek. Exactly half an hour into the tape, I had to stop watching. It was that bad.

So I am wondering how people can find the will power to sit through fifteen hours of this! And how they can bring themselves to pay good money to do it, too! I liked the music okay in places, but it wasn't enough to hold my interest for more than una media hora. Give me Lord of the Rings any day. The flutey Irish music may not be up to the caliber of this Wagner dude's obra, but at least most of the actors are wearing pants , por el amor de dios!

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland