homeland insecurity | 2002-02-05 - 9:02 p.m.


The other day I read a newspaper feature about Tom Ridge, director of Heimland -- I mean, Homeland -- Security. Hijos, am I the only one who gets un poquito nerviosa when this man's name is mentioned? I mean, this hombre goes around saying things like "Everybody understands that I am empowered by the President. That's all I need." All I need ... for what?

It's espantoso how quickly this dude's estrella has risen. Talk about Cinderella stories! One minute Tom is Gobernador Nobody of Pennsylvania, pushing school vouchers and cutting corporate taxes in relative anonymity. Then PUF! his old drinking buddy el Presidente waves his magic wand and Se�or Tom is suddenly coordinating the anti-terrorist efforts of m�s de 45 federal agencies. "Obtaining their cooperation" is the way the newspaper article put it.

Call me a crank, but I do not remember asking el Presidente to appoint this alb�ndiga to "obtain the cooperation" of agencias like the CIA and the INS. Just what exactamente are these agencies supposed to cooperate on, anyway? New methods of wiretapping enemies of the Homeland? Detaining subversive elements without bail?

Who can say for sure? Se�or Ridge does, after all, have "one of the broadest job descriptions in U.S. government history." One thing we know at least -- nowhere in this gigante job description is there anything about protecting civil liberties. Esos asuntos, according to the article, "belong to the Attorney General."

Enough said. �Ten piedad, Dios! Save us!

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland