got la llorona? | 2002-01-19 - 12:18 p.m.


Every culture has its secret policemen, and I'm not talking about the tios from the CIA or the KGB. No, I'm talking about the imaginary characters that every kid in every culture lives in fear of. The iron fist in the red, fur-trimmed glove. The eyes in the nursery wall that police the comings and goings of every last kid on the planet. Ya sabes -- los gringos have Santa Claus, an overweight old man who monitors your sleeping habits, withholds presents, and frightens toddlers in shopping malls each Christmas. In my culture, we have La Llorona, a terrifying ghost who, in life, killed her own children and in death, walks the world looking for new victims.

From a very early age we are told alarming stories of how La Llorona will take us away if we misbehave or goof off. This is not kid's stuff. Visit lallorona.com and you will see drawings and commentaries on La Llorona that will make your hair stand on end. Some of the drawings are eerily similar to the work of juvenile trauma victims, featuring black suns, big droplets of blood and tears, and characters saying things like "I hate you. I want dad." Go ahead, visit the site. I'll wait.

OK, are you convinced? This Llorona is no Mrs. Claus. No, se�or. So imagine my horror when I see the new "Got Milk" commercial on TV el otro d�a. �Ay! �Are these Milk Advisory Board guys kidding? I am practically peeing in my chonis, watching La Llorona float from room to room. What the hell kind of advertising campaign is this?

Hilarious, according to Advertising Age critic Bob Garfield. "This is a hilarious campaign," he said back in September.

Mande? OK, yes, this was before the milk commercials started getting disturbing (did you see that one with the baby and the dog?) but still! What is so hilarious about a bruja who abuses her kids and walks around the kitchen howling and eating pan dulce in the middle of the night? That shit ain't funny! Dios, if I want that kind of humor, I can invite my alcoholic T�a Dolores over for the weekend.

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland