todo el mundo loves mambo | 2002-07-31 - 9:03 p.m.


I have been making an extra especial esfuerzo to look good this week. Not like I don't normalmente try to look my very, very best, but a veces you just don't have the time to exfoliate, ya sabes?

The cornerstone of my sexy nuevo look is this sexy nuevo perfume called Mambo. I found it at a major department store one d�a while shopping for a pleather skirt. One whiff and I was enganchada.

The bottle, with its fiery, hot-colored stripes, was eye-catching. It looked just like a Tequila Sunrise. In retrospect, I guess the tequila association was unintended, since Liz Claiborne named the fragrancia after the national dance of Cuba, and we all know how sensitive she and everyone in her company must be to the subtle cultural diferencias that distinguish Mexico from Cuba. De todos modos, it looked enough like a Tequila Sunrise that I grabbed the bottle before I knew what I was doing.

�Hmm! I thought, spraying Mambo all over my clothing as soon as the clerk had turned to help another cliente. If I were a brand new fragrance line, I would smell exactamente like this! Un poco fruity, un poco vibrant, and just a little ... over the top. Captivated, I turned the bottle around and read the copy on the back, an incipient sneeze working its way out of my sinus passages. "Mambo," it said, "captures the spirit and passion for life of the woman who wears it: romantic, exotic, and seductive ... with musks, exotic wood, and vanilla chula orchid."

Aaaaachooo! Hijos, I may have ninguna idea what a vanilla chula orchid is, but I know a good fragrance when I smell one. I left the store cinco minutos later with a bottle of the exotic, stimulating stuff, energized, decongested, and ready to take on el mundo!

Y �sabes qu�? Dos semanas later, I love Mambo as much as I did the first d�a.

With one caveat. Mambo is car�simo! It'll cost you almost as much as an eighth of weed, which, as you know, is quite costly these d�as, now that the war on drogas has resumed in earnest! Not that I would know, of course.

That said, Mambo has some distinct advantages over hierba. Unlike marijuana, it lasts longer than a week. It doesn't require any paraphernalia. You can store it in plain view of your vecinos without worrying about them breaking into your apartmento to steal it. And perhaps mejor de todo, your landlord and boss won't freak out when they smell it on you.

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland