una resoluci�n | 2002-06-10 - 7:55 p.m.


Back at home in my apartamento, I find I am suddenly equipped with a nueva perspectiva on life. They say nothing alters the conocimiento like travel, so I guess I should not be surprised by my new outlook, given the intensidad of this last trip of mine.

After hearing the horrible news about Abuelita's teen pretendiente in Las Vegas, I did what any adoring nieta would do for her ailing grandmother. Es decir, I dragged her out of the motel room where she was moping with Pap� y Mam� and took her out for a night on the town. Just the two of us solteronas.

What a night! We drank Bellinis in Venice, champagne in Paris, Cosmopolitans in Nueva York, and tequila shots in Esleeping Beauty's castle (by the time we got to the castle, we were too borrachas to be concerned about theme drinking). We saw white tigers and talking statues; naufragios and gondolas. We inhaled enough second-hand smoke to give us miner's lung. The more we imbibed, the more dinero we lost. And the less we cared.

Through it all, Abuelita managed to do a fair imitaci�n of alguien having a good time (the Esleeping Beauty tequila shots were her idea). She took me to my first male stripper show and insisted we ride the roller coaster at New York, New York -- twice! But I, who have laughed through my own l�grimas m�s veces than I care to recordar, could tell her heart was heavy that night. As was mine. When, oh when, I thought as we tearfully drank another round to the salud of Sigfried and Roy, would we ever find true happiness?

Now that I am de vuelta (and finalmente recovered from the hangover from hell that ensued the day after our borrachera), I look around me at my dingy surroundings and feel more strongly than ever that it is time for a change. If I have learned una cosa from this trip from hell of mine, it is this -- I am my Abuelita's nieta. I cannot stand to be alone.

And that, desafortunadamente, means I can no longer afford to sit on my culo and wait for my Principe Charming to come find me. No, I must go out and seize my destino by the horns and wrestle it to the ground, wherever it may be.

I just hope to God that this Prince Charming of mine, whoever he may be, has completed junior high.

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland