fool's paradise | 2002-02-22 - 11:56 p.m.


Just finished a two-day Diarylandia fast in which neither reading nor writing of diaries was undertaken. �Vaya refrescante! You ought to try it este fin de semana!

That said, por mucho que yo disfrutaba my little Diarylandia diet, it was not a matter of choice. It was a logical response to a diary overindulgence, brought on by a cursory reading of Chzza's rich, peppery, imposiblemente scholastic prose.

Reading Chzza's diary was like biting into the manzana on the tree of knowledge in Ed�n. I was not even halfway through one of Chzza's pulpy, redolent entries before, de repente, I started feeling naked, gorged, and very, very afraid. I, who had been living in a fool's paradise hasta entonces with my silly little musings on pretzels and Taco Bell, suddenly saw my diary for lo que es -- a tiny, inconsequential blinking luz on the console of a massive, sofisticada supercomputer. (Ya s� que no ten�an supercomputers en Ed�n, but you will please allow me a little licencia po�tica). In the blink of an eye, I understood la diferencia entre lo bueno y lo malo, el negro y el blanco, and hijos, I did not like what mi nuevo conocimiento told me about la calidad of my simple, childish pensamientos.

Like Eva en el jard�n, mi primer instinto was to drop the apple and flee, never, ever to read Chzza's diary again. But --alas! -- I am only human, and I know I will slink back alg�n d�a --some day -- to gorge myself on the forbidden fruit again.

OK, probablemente as soon as I finish writing this entry.

In the meantime, if I do not immediately list Chzza as one of mis preferidos, es solamente porque I fear the great eye of Chzza might all the sooner come to rest on me in my naked and childlike estado. O, hijos, I could not bear the shame.

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland