feliz cliffhanger nuevo | 2003-01-11 - 5:13 p.m.


They say the great bear of California -- also known as the econom�a -- may be creeping into hibernation for the next few a�os. All well and good if you are nada m�s than an abstract concept or a poorly constructed metaphor. I, being neither, think I would rather date Jerry Brown than have to undergo another chingado d�a of hibernation. Enough hibernating! I say, resolviendo to write with m�s frecuencia que nunca. It's a brand new a�o and I'm coming out of my cave!

Although I've taken my time coming out, going in was never an issue for me. Christmas is not a very good time en el mundo de Castigada. I can't explicar why, but cada a�o, when the temperature drops to 76 degrees and the local Fox affiliate starts airing commercials for Shirley Temple videos and mi madre begins preparandose for her yearly pilgrimage to Ross, I find myself becoming m�s y m�s deprimida until finalmente, on the d�a de Nochebuena, I am emocionalmente flimsier than a chimichanga that has been left out on the kitchen counter overnight.

Este a�o, I decided to evitar all human contact, even those few contacts I'd made at Diaryland, because la soledad was the one soluci�n to the Christmas canguelo I'd never tried before. If miseria loves compa��a, I thought, I will put my misery into solitary confinement!

So it was that, aside from trabajar, I did lo menos posible for two months. Good news for the Freecell game. Bad news for the interpersonal relationships.

I knew I'd hit rock bottom when, on Christmas day, I found myself jugando an online fantasy game called Ravenfart or algo por el estilo with some dude named Roger from Chula Vista. From start to finish, the game took sixteen horas, exclusive of bathroom breaks! Aun more asombroso is that it could have gone for days, if I hadn't decided to investigar the intermittent pounding noise that had been emanando from my door since December 23rd.

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland