a la mierda | 2002-11-27 - 8:39 p.m.


I am telling you, fate is a cruel mistress. Or master. Just when cosas seem to be going perfectamente for you; just when you think you've got it all -- bastante dinero for the bills, a novel in the works, and a pint of Ben and Jerry's in the freezer -- fate walks in and takes it all away. Fate is capricious and mal intencionado, like a cosmic repo man with a grudge.

This week, fate came in the form of a misterioso power outtage that turned my clocks back five horas, made my VCR miss the taping of All My Children, and left a maloliente grey puddle at the foot of my refrigerator. M�s horrible still, this power outtage -- or, I am coming to think, perhaps a computer virus -- did algo to my computer. Algo that converted all of the characters in my Word documentos into runes.

Resulta que my novel-in-progress now looks like the original manuscrito of Lord of the Rings.

On the bright side, Concha has an ex-novio who says he can fix the problema for me. Desafortunadamente, he wants money; exactamente the amount I had set aside to ajustar my Mervyns account una vez para siempre. �Mierda!

Huelga decir, I am afraid the three kind souls who expressed inter�s in reading an excerpt from my novel will have to content themselves for now with a desanimado entry about the crueldad and capriciousness of fate.

Which realmente, when I come to pensar en ello, isn't all that different from what went on in Chapter II and IV.

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland