amber alert | 2002-11-04 - 9:52 p.m.


Two weeks ago, I was andando to the bus stop, thinking about the Amber Alert, when I passed a little girl of about 7 a�os. She was sitting on the curb and humming to herself, just like the ni�a in the original Frankenstein pel�cula. What struck me was that she was completamente alone; no one, not a parent, nor a sibling, nor a nanny, was in sight. I could have kept walking, so as to make the bus, but I felt suddenly compelled to help the poor little ni�a.

"Hi there, little one," I said. "Where are your parents?"

The girl squinted up at me. She said nothing at first. Then slowly, a look of recognition began to dawn on her face. She scrambled to her feet and began pointing at me.

"N-no to drugs!" she began to stammer.

I stooped down to her level. "I'm not giving you any drugs, sweetie," I said. "I'm just trying to make sure you ..."

"No to drugs! NO to drugs!"

Across the street, someone peered out at us from their living room window. A dog barked. Reluctantly, I began to back away.

"NO TO DRUGS!" the girl screamed. "NO TO DRUGS! STAY AWAAAY FROM MEEEEE!"

Somewhere a screen door slammed. I looked around nervously, expecting to see a band of angry villagers emerging from their houses with flaming torches and pitchforks. This is it, I thought; they'll stab me with their farming implements and burn me alive, and no one will ever find my cuerpo.

I was about to start running for my life when a voice stopped me dead in my tracks.

"AMBER! Get the HELL back in here right now or I'll kick your ass all the way to fucking CHINA!"

The No-to-Drugs girl suddenly fell quiet.

"Amber! Do you fucking HEAR me? Get the hell in here, NOW!"

Amber looked at me sullenly. "No to drugs," she said, and without another palabra, ran past me into her house. My hands shaking, I continued down the street to the bus stop.

I've been having bad dreams ever since. Pesadillas from which I suddenly awaken, screaming. Pesadillas in which I'm being pursued by narcotraficantes and abusive parents with pitchforks. Nothing seems to make the dreams go away. Even the sleeping pills Concha gave me don't seem to be working.

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland