the cure | 2002-09-28 - 9:26 p.m.


About quince a�os ago, when I had even less dinero than I have now, I shared an apartamento in St*d** C*t* with a muchacha named Kristi Wallace. Our alliance was, as they say, estrictamente de convenience. We met through a mutual amiga at a fiesta one night and in my desesperaci�n to cut costs, I invited her to move in with me the following semana.

It was an alianza doomed to failure. Kristi y yo had even menos in com�n than Laura Bush and Hilary Clinton, and I'm not just hablando about our taste in men. At the time, I was going through a m�s-Chicana-que-t� phase in which I was prone to regurgitate the poetry of Ana Castillo to anyone who would listen. Kristi, por su parte, was busy trying to make her pale face even m�s p�lida so she would gain acceptance at the Goth clubs she liked to frequent. Our apartmento, for the two months we shared it, was like a two-room battlefield. On one wall of the cuarto, Frida Kahlo fixed us with her severo, mono-browed frown. On the other, Robert Smith's face glowered at us like a malevolent moon pie.

You remember Robert Smith, right? The p�lido lead singer of The Cure? Gracias a Kristi, his imagen is seared on mis sesos para siempre, but for those of you who don't remember the eighties, d�jenme refrescar your memoria.

Bien espantoso, �no? Imagine my shock and perplejidad when I received this in the buz�n today:

Ay, Dios, I thought. Not only has Robert Smith fired his hairstylist and toned down his lipcolor, not only has he undergone a sex change, but he's all of a sudden into politics, too! Isn't the mundo pol�tico already bastante atontado? What in demonios, I asked myself, is this mundo coming to? Has Bono ushered in a new era of rockers-turned-politicians? What's next? Michael Jackson for Vice Presidente?

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland