a conversaci�n with mam� | 2002-08-18 - 10:09 p.m.


"Did you see that TV commercial last night?"

This is my madre, arrojando what she considers to be a perfectamente legitimate conversational gauntlet. It simplemente does not occur to Mam� that there must have been close to seven thousand commercials airing anoche, and that the chances of my having viewed the very commercial to which she is referring are about as good as Hillary Clinton winning the Democratic primary in 2008.

In the pause that follows, I can hear the ticking of Mam�'s sunburst clock over the sofa. On the twenty-sixth tick, when it becomes clear that Mam� does not intend to proveer any clues, I break down and ask her what the hell she is talking about.

"Ya sabes," she says, somewhat exasperada. "The commercial with the man on the horse."

"I don't think I've seen that one, Mam�."

She snorts. "Chasing the man and his wife down the road?"

"Sorry, Mam�."

"With the man and his wife in the brand new car?"

I shrug. "No me suena. Doesn't ring any bells."

"Oh, sure you've seen it. At the end the car dealer gives the man a free video for test-driving the car."

"What car dealer?"

"You know -- the man who's been chasing the couple down the road."

"What -- you mean the man on the horse?"

"Aj�!" my madre crows, like she's just caught the Zodiac Killer. "So you have seen that commercial."

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland