yet another entry about stats and banners | 2002-07-20 - 9:05 p.m.


Hace un mes, Andrew, Creator of Diarylandia, sent me an email all about the new banner stats page; a page where Diaryland Gold and Supergold members can go to see how many new readers their Diarylandia banners are attracting.

I could hardly contain my excitement as I waited for the banner stats page to appear on my screen. Finalmente, I thought, an answer to all of my burning banner preguntas!

Imagine my anguish when I opened the banner stats page to find this:

account: XXXXXXXX

totalhits: 20000

views so far: 14866

clicks so far: 180

clickthrough%: 1.2%

What's this? I gasped. A click-through rate of 1.2%?

Hijos, I know my banner is about as unengaging as Ted Williams' cryonically preserved body, but mierda, it doesn't get much worse than a click-through rate of 1.2%, does it? Those annoying Geocities pop-up windows probablemente get a better click-through rate than that. Dios mio, you'd probablemente get a click-through rate of 1.2% just from people cleaning the lint out of their mouses or slumping forward dead onto their keyboards.

So why am I sharing this with you?

Bueno, call me obsesa, call me desesperada, but I am appealing to you for ayuda. As I am convinced you all have more talent for dise�o in your me�iques than I will ever hope to have in my life, I am requesting that in your tiempo libre, one of you design a clickworthy banner for my diary. Algo more clickworthy than this:

or this:

Your reward? Apart from my good opini�n, and the admiration of those who eventually see your fine banner unfurl in the Diarylandia members' area, you will be entitled to my translation servicios, which are ... unparalleled. Whether you need that importante document in English or Spanglish, I can get it to you -- on time, and usually spelled correctamente.

If there are no takers, I may have to withdraw this generous one-time oferta, so act now! Before it's too late!!

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland