getting away | 2002-04-29 - 9:13 p.m.


If there's one cosa I've learned in my treinta y cinco a�os of hard living, it's �sta: every one of us -- from the pobre and lowly to the rich y famoso -- deserves a break from time to time. This is a truth so timeless, so eternal, that even the dreamweavers at a major chain of fast food restaurants once felt compelled to crystallize it in song.

... You deserve a break today

So get out and go away ...

It rang true years ago and it rings true hoy d�a, in these post-traumatic, post-9-11 times. We deserve a break today. The Vice Presidente needs his naps now and then to keep him spry and feisty. Concha needs her beauty esleep to keep those pesky arrugas from appearing around her eyes. ABC needs to take a break from its quality programming de vez en cuando, even if it means the public must temporarily forego the freshness, the breathtaking innovaci�n of brand-new episodes of The Chair.

Have you guessed what this is leading up to? S�, hijos, you got it. Ridiculous as it sounds, I also deserve a break. Today. Despite having just taken a Diarylandia vacaci�n for unos cuantos d�as. Like oneblackbird and her mentor Ferris Bueller, I have come to entender that "life moves pretty quickly. If you don't stop and look around once in a while, you might miss it."

Adem�s, I have just begun to develop the mala costumbre of pirating other people's diaries for content and images. A costumbre which comes from having muy poco to say por m� misma.

As� que, I am putting down the pen and picking up my binoculars por un momento so I may watch the gay pageant of la vida progress around me. And soon, all too soon, I will return to Diarylandia like the golondrinas return to San Juan Capistrano, refreshed, reanimada, and all the wiser about the malas costumbres of mis vecinos.

In the meantime, may I recomendar some of my personal favorite entries? No? Well, here they are, anyway.

pottery mausoleum

got la llorona?

removable feasts

pomp and circumstance lite

it stinks

�Cu�dense!

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland