death by Netscape | 2002-04-15 - 8:14 p.m.


Gracias, queridos, for all the reassuring mensajes I received anoche in response to my pregunta about lightning. I had ninguna idea you were all so sabios about the mistificando world of computadoras y electricidad.

I was muy afectada by your concern for the safety of mi computadora, which is, gracias a Uds., sana y salva. Al mismo tiempo, however, I would like to point out that my pregunta did not pertain to the seguridad of my computadora but to the safety of me, la Castigada.

Yes, hijos, much as it shames me to admit�rselo, while I awaited your respuestas to my query last night, I was not furrowing my frente over the fate of my hard drive. No, I was agonizando with worry that I would somehow be estruck by an errant bolt of lightning shooting from my keyboard, algo like one of the Nazi cameramen in the climactic finale de Raiders of the Lost Ark. As the storm raged afuera, whipping my vecino's tacky plastic lawn furniture against the side of the apartment building, I pictured my own office chair convertida into a flaming throne of fire, my tender, all-too-mortal flesh the conduit for 100 million voltajes of electricidad. It was not a happy thought.

Perhaps to you, my beloved readers, a fried modem is more unspeakable than muerte by electrocution, but I am an old-fashioned chola, and I shudder with un espasmo de horror when I think how close I came to suffering a fiery, painful death at the (imaginary) hands of my computadora.

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland