always a bridesmaid, continued | 2002-04-07 - 8:29 p.m.


"So, qui�n es el lucky hombre?" I finalmente asked, once I got my voice back.

Without a pizca of iron�a in her voice, Mam� filled me in on los pormenores of su suegra's latest conquista rom�ntica. Aparentemente, Abuelita was prowling the chat room at funkytimes.com late one noche when she started charlando with un caballero desconocido about Shakira's latest album. She and este tipo entered into a playful repartee about the current state of pop music, which flowered into a more serious conversation about the legalizaci�n of marijuana. Before the noche was over, she and Se�or Chatty were making plans to rent a deluxe Winnebago and drive to Costa Rica together. Y as they say, el resto is history. Before the month was out, they had their wedding clothes picked out and their guest list committed to paper.

"They wanted to have a runaway wedding, but they settled on Las Vegas instead so la familia could attend. Isn't that rom�ntico?" mi madre was telling me.

"Do you and Daddy know anything about this man, mam�?"

"No, but your abuela says this man makes her feel young."

I rolled my eyes. As if Abuela needed any asistencia with that.

"And don't you roll your eyes, m'hija. He's a respectable man, if he's talking about marriage."

I was about to hang up when mam� added, como un afterthought, "Castigada? Make sure you keep the first Sunday of June free. Abuela says she wants you to be one of her bridesmaids."

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland