pomp and circumstance lite | 2002-02-10 - 3:47 p.m.


You see the Olympic Opening Ceremonies Friday night? Yo, tambien. Just can't get enough halftime extravaganza crap, right? Well, I, too, find halftime shows fascinantes, but -- ay, it shames me to admit it -- I was mostly drawn to the spectacle by a morbid desire to see if anything was going to happen. You know what I mean. Unscheduled pyrotechnical displays, ad hoc cropdusting, ese tipo de cosa. Can you blame me? After hearing what that espantoso Donald Rumsfeld had to say about future terrorist acts, I half expected to see Osama Bin Laden materialize in the middle of the hoedown-on-ice in a cloud of red smoke.

Anymodo, I am very, very glad nada de that nature did happen. Que alivio.

Relief aside, I will say the proceedings could have used a little esparkle. Y al mismo tiempo, a little good taste (I was not fooled by the introduction of class act Sting and Yo Yo Ma. They are musical whores). I mean, exactly whose buena idea was it to include a hack like Steven Spielberg in the flag raising ceremony? As a representative of culture, no less? As Se�or Spielberg smirked his way to the Olympic flagpole, I thought I saw una l�grima of shame roll down the face of Bishop Desmond Tutu. But I could have been mistaken.

Since we are on the subject of chosen ones, perhaps someone can tell me why on god's planeta they decided to have the 1980 US hockey team ignite the Olympic cauldron? I mean, there's this huge build-up -- who's gonna light the chingado thing? who could it possibly be? -- and you would think after all this build-up and drama it's going to be Jesus Christ or the ghost of Mother Teresa o algo. But no, after all the suspense, they annouce it's Mike Eruzione. �Mande? �Mike qui�n? Yeah, yeah, now I remember who you are, Mike, but can you blame me for forgetting your name? Please -- I'm like, really grateful to you and your team for beating the Soviet Union over 20 years ago, but it's not like you've been in my thoughts and prayers cada d�a since then.

Yes, on the whole, la ceremonia lacked vigor and panache, much like the twenty-year old US hockey team. I will say, however, I enjoyed seeing el Presidente give his little opening ceremony espeech. He just gets better and better at public speaking, doesn't he? Especialmente when his lines are short.

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland