Que hay de mi! | 2002-01-07 - 11:32 p.m.


Ayyy, que hay de mi. I am so fatigued. I am reduced to dust. I have just completed my tercera day working as waitress in a restaurant so tacky even the flies know to stay away. OK, maybe they are afraid of that electric zappy thing they have hanging by the back door, but you will allow me a little licencia poetica. The coffee is like fortyweight motor oil (I learned about motor oil mientras my last work as mechanic, but that is another story). I will extend the garage metaphor a little more, though. The patrons are like mechanics -- grimy, avoidant of eye contact, and tight. If you run your finger under the table at this restaurant, you come into contact with masticated gum that has been there for maybe a decade. How horrible, you say, and so it is. Por lo menos this gum is no longer moist! But it brings to mind visions of the departed persons who put it there, and you know anybody who chewed gum at this restaurant hace ten years is probably not doing so good right now. Very sad and horrible, no?

This evening I prayed to the santissima virgen de Guadalupe to liberate me from this earthly hell of unceasing toil and bad tips. The statue, she looks over my head as if to say "I'll get to you later, castigada. Wait your turn. You no saint, hija." She may be right, la virgen. But that does not help me get the laundry done after the laundromat has closed (la misma hora as my shift ends!)

anterior - siguiente

pride and prejudice - 2004-09-07
wherein I become a Yahoo! Search Result - 2004-06-23
like 9-11 all over again - 2004-06-20
enough said - 2003-02-05
tirar por la calle de en medio - 2003-01-28

newest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

�Favor de Sign My Guestbook!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

�Me quieres? Join my Notify List and get email when I update:
email:

Powered by NotifyList.com

about me -- my profile

design by kjtorres

read other diaries

Diary Rings

member of the scorpio diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the snobs diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

we live sweat but dream light years | d*land wage slaves: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland

member of the love-is-pain diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - I'll Dance on His Mutilated Corpse - Diaryland

Living Abroad - the expat diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland